Gnocchi with Gorgonzola Sauce

I’ve mentioned once or twice (or a dozen) times before that while I didn’t grow up in an Italian family, I did grow up in an Italian neighborhood. And that was almost as good because I got all of the delicious food and the guilt was amply covered by my family. I’ve found that Jewish guilt and Italian guilt are practically interchangeable.

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola

It was a long time before I realized that pasta came in a box: my family never boiled pasta and my friends families made their own – at least on Sunday’s when I was around.  Gnocchi were one of the things that I didn’t even know existed on supermarket shelves until I started doing my own food shopping in college. Then I understood why they’re such a treat to make yourself at home.

I love making gnocchi with the kids, especially when they have friends over. It’s so hard to mess up and kids think that they’re playing with play-doh… it’s fun to be able to play with your food in the same way! Messy too (I have to control my OCD issues), but the entertainment value far surpasses the clean-up effort!

Enjoy!

Boil russet potatoes

Peel, boil & drain russet potatoes

Mash the boiled potatoes

Mash the boiled potatoes

Measure out 4 cups of AP flour onto a large, clean surface

Measure out 4 cups of AP flour onto a large, clean surface

Add cooled potatoes to the flour

Add cooled potatoes to the flour

Add eggs and salt to the potatoes and flour

Add eggs, salt and nutmeg to the potatoes and flour

Knead!

Knead!

Knead I say

Knead I say

Roll into rope and cut into 1" pieces

Roll into rope and cut into 1″ pieces (small hands help out!)

Potato Pillows of Happiness

Potato Pillows of Happiness

20131112_185825 20131112_185825-MOTION

Floating gnocchi

Floating gnocchi

Gnocchi for everyone!

Gnocchi for everyone!

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola Sauce

Makes 8 large entree portions

Adapted from Epicurious

Ingredients

4 pounds russet potatoes
3 medium eggs (or two large eggs)
2 cups AP flour (or GF AP flour)
2 teaspoons salt
pinch of ground nutmeg
.
.
1 cup heavy cream
16 ounce as crumbled gorgonzola
.
Optional
Chives
Parmesan
 

Gnocchi Directions

1. Peel potatoes and roughly cut them.
2. Put them into a large pot and cover with water. Cook until fork tender.
3. Drain potatoes.
4. Mash potatoes and let cool.
5. On a clean working surface, combine flour, mashed potatoes, eggs, salt and nutmeg.
6. Gently knead.
7. Break off piece and make a rope with it, about 1/2″-3/4″ thick. Using a knife, cut the rope into 1″ pieces. They should look like little pillows.
8. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
9. Working in batches (about 20-30 pieces at MOST), put the gnocchi pieces into the boiling water. The gnocchi will rise to the top when cooked. Remove with a large slotted spoon.
You can serve the gnocchi with a drizzle of (good!!!!) olive oil and a sprinkle of parmesan… or you can take 4 minutes to make the easy gorgonzola sauce!

Gorgonzola Sauce Directions

1. In a small sauce pan, heat heavy cream on medium heat to a simmer. Add gorgonzola and remove from heat. Whisk until melted.
Serve over gnocchi. Garnish with optional chives and sprinkle grated parmesan.
Enjoy!
Eat, Drink & Be Yummy!
Leave a Reply

