Kale, Shredded Apple and Sunflower Seed Salad

When I worked full time in the corporate world, I treasured my lunchtime with colleagues. The work may have been difficult, but spending time with the people who shared my daily grind was a pleasure. The camaraderie of a large workplace is something that I miss, now that I’ve started my own small business.  If I ever go back to corporate life, it might be to fulfill the loneliness of daily activities!

Kale, shredded apple and sunflower seed saladKale, shredded apple and sunflower seed salad

The upside of my own business is that I have the flexibility to visit my old co-workers and still have lunch with them. A few days ago, I had the opportunity to have lunch at a downtown restaurant that re-opened about two months after Hurricane Sandy devastated the area. Dig Inn Seasonal Market is a small chain restaurant that changes it’s menu (you guessed it) seasonally. The few things that I’ve had there have been yummy, until I tasted this salad that I thought was phenomenal.

When things like this happen, I become obsessed with attempting to duplicate the flavor. I was consumed with recreating this salad so much that I somehow managed to mention Dig Inn or the salad components into every conversation that I had for the better part of a week. Yes. That obsessed.

I’m thrilled with the result and am so excited to share it with you!

Enjoy!

Remove the thicker, fiberous parts of the kale leaf

Remove the thicker, fiberous parts of the kale leaf

Coarsely shred a granny smith apple

Coarsely shred a granny smith apple

Pour dressing over kale and apple

Pour dressing over kale and apple

Toss salad and top with sunflower seeds

Toss salad and top with sunflower seeds

Kale, shredded apple and sunflower seed salad (close up)

Kale, shredded apple and sunflower seed salad (close up)

Kale, shredded apple and sunflower seed salad

Kale, shredded apple and sunflower seed salad

Kale, Shredded Apple and Sunflower Seed Salad

Makes 4 entree size portions of salad or 8 side salads

Ingredients

1 bag TJ’s Kale (10 ounces)
2 granny smith apples peeled
3 tablespoons sunflower seeds, roasted unsalted
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon white balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
 

Directions

1. Remove all thick stems from the kale. Cut kale leaves into bit size pieces into a large bowl.
2. Coarsely grate the peeled apples into the large bowl.
3. In a small bowl, combine all of the dressing ingredients. (can be made 1-2 days ahead and refrigerated)
4. Toss kale and apples with the dressing. (Because the kale is so hearty, the salad can stay crisp for up to two days and the apples won’t brown because of the acid in the dressing.)
5. Top with sunflower seeds before serving. (You can toss in the sunflower seeds ahead of time, but they’ll soak up some dressing and get a bit soggy).
.
Eat, Drink & Be Yummy!
.
8 thoughts on “Kale, Shredded Apple and Sunflower Seed Salad

    1. makemealsmama Post author

      Michelle, I think it’s pretty close. I had it again after it was refrigerated for a day… and it was even BETTER than when it was fresh. Sooooo good!

      Reply
  1. strafthegreat

    I’m not usually into this sort of salad but this sounds delicious. Thank you for sharing with the rest of the world. 🙂 Oh and I am definitely going to try it!

    Reply
    1. makemealsmama Post author

      I know that salads aren’t very manly, but trust me on this one. It’s simultaneously light AND hearty. I added garbanzo beans my husband loved it as a meal!

      Reply
      1. strafthegreat

        I don’t buy into manly food or not because I sip bubbly with the best of them but I generally like my salads to be a bit more robust and have a few more ingredients. You have completely inspired me today to start my blog. lol

  2. Kay

    This looks great. I, too, obsess about recreating things I’ve loved in restaurants. The most difficult was a fried green tomato appetizer I had in South Carolina once. Tried for years before we stumbled upon the right topping. This just looks too good . . . so it must be right!

    Kay

    Reply
  3. Robin

    The menu says this salad has a carrot ginger dressing. Is the flavor really the same? I am so excited I found your blog. We share the same love with this salad!!! Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Robin

    You are my hero! Salad is spot on!! Huge hit!! I am impressed with your skills!! Can you copy the rest of the menu now? 🙂 thanks so much!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

